Shakespeare Theatre Co 2020-21 season – Equity Video Submissions (Deadline 10.22.20)

Shakespeare Theatre Company
Washington, DC

Job Details

DESCRIPTION

CALL TYPE
Submission

CONTRACT
LORT Non-Rep
$1,064/week (LORT B+)

PERSONNEL
Simon Godwin, Artistic Director
Chris Jennings, Executive Director
Carter Wooddell, Resident Casting Director

Resident Casting Director, Carter Wooddell; Associate Artistic Director, Alan Paul; and Line Producer, Grace Ann Roberts, will review all AEA submissions.

OTHER DATES
See breakdown for production dates.

OTHER
FOR ACTORS WHO WISH TO SUBMIT ONLY A HEADSHOT AND RESUME FOR CONSIDERATION FOR STC’S 2020-2021 SEASON, PLEASE EMAIL YOUR HEADSHOT & RESUME TO castingshakespeare@shakespearetheatre.org with the email subject line: HEADSHOT/RESUME SUBMISSION STC 2020-2021 SEASON.

You may also mail headshot and resume submissions to:
Shakespeare Theatre Company – Casting
516 8th Street Southeast
Washington, DC 20003

Equity’s contracts prohibit discrimination. Equity is committed to diversity and encourages all its employers to engage in a policy of equal employment opportunity designed to promote a positive model of inclusion. As such, Equity encourages performers of all ethnicities, gender identities, and ages, as well as performers with disabilities, to submit.

SEEKING
Equity actors for all roles available in the 2020 -2021 season (see breakdown). Producing Venue: Shakespeare Theatre Company at Sidney Harman Hall.

STC is committed to building an inclusive organization that reflects the national artistic landscape and communities that we serve. We encourage people of all communities to audition for all roles available.

PLEASE NOTE: Casting will not review materials of non-AEA/EMC actors at this time. You MUST be a member of AEA to submit an electronic audition.

BREAKDOWN

2020-2021 SEASON BREAKDOWN

The Chairs
By: Eugene Ionesco
Translated by: Martin Crimp
Directed by: Alan Paul
Performs at Sidney Harman Hall
1st Rehearsal – Tuesday, January 5, 2021
Tech – Friday, January 22 – Sunday, January 24, 2021
Previews – Tuesday, January 26 – Wednesday, January 27, 2021
Close – Sunday, February 14, 2021

ROLES OPEN (All):
The Old Man
The Old Woman
The Orator

Red Velvet
By: Lolita Chakrabarti
Directed by: Jade King Carroll
Performs at: Sidney Harman Hall
1st Rehearsal – Tuesday, February 9, 2021
Tech – Friday, February 26 – Sunday, February 28, 2021
Previews – Tuesday, March 2 – Wednesday, March 3, 2021
Close – Sunday, March 21, 2021

Roles open (All):
Ira Aldridge at age 26 and age 60
Halina Wozniak / Betty Lovell / Margaret Aldridge
Casimir / Henry Forrester
Terence / Bernard Warde
Connie
Charles Kean
Ellen Tree
Pierre Laporte

The Crucible
By: Arthur Miller
Directed by: Whitney White
Performs at: Sidney Harman Hall
1st Rehearsal – Tuesday, March 16, 2021
Tech – Friday, April 2 – Sunday, April 4, 2021
Previews – Tuesday, April 6 – Wednesday, April 7, 2021
Close – Sunday, April 25, 2021

ROLES OPEN (All):
Reverend Parris
Betty Parris
Tituba
Abagail Williams
Susanna Walcott
Mrs. Ann Putnam
Thomas Putnam
Mercy Lewis
Marry Warren
Martha Corey
John Proctor
Rebecca Nurse
Giles Corey
Reverend John Hale
Elizabeth Proctor
Francis Nurse
Ezekiel Cheever
Marshal Herrick
Judge Hathorne
Deputy Governor Danforth
Sarah Good
Hopkins
*All doubling and tracking TBD.

AS YOU LIKE IT
By William Shakespeare
Directed by Simon Godwin
Performs at Sidney Harman Hall
1st Rehearsal – Tuesday, April 20, 2021
Tech – Friday – Friday, May 7 – Sunday, May 9, 2021
Previews – Tuesday, May 11 – Wednesday, May 12, 2021
Close – Sunday, May 30, 2021

ROLES OPEN (All):
Rosalind
Celia
Duke Senior
Duke Frederick
Orlando
Oliver
Adam
Dennis
Charles
Le Beau
Touchstone
Amiens
Jaques
Corin
Silvius
Phoebe
Audrey
Sir Oliver Martext
William
Hymen
Jaques De Boys
Dukes, Pages, Lords, Ladies, and other attendants *All doubling and tracking TBD.

SUBMISSION INSTRUCTIONS
Prepare & self-tape one (1) classical monologue, preferably Shakespeare, & a contemporary monologue of your choosing. Prior to beginning your monologues, state your name & what you will perform. Total audition should not exceed 3 minutes. Submit auditions & photo/resume electronically with subject line: EPA SUBMISSION STC 2020- 2021 SEASON (include your membership number in the subject line to verify that you are a member of AEA). Send videos in the form of a link to view, not a file to download.

Deadline: 10/22/2020

SUBMIT TO
castingshakespeare@shakespearetheatre.org

Union

AEA