Twelfth Night – Immersive, Educational Production

Emit Theatre
New York, NY
US

Job Details

DESCRIPTION

Emit Theatre is seeking non-union interactive/classical performers for our upcoming immersive production of Twelfth Night. This show will be produced for both school groups and the general public. Our shows are designed to create a highly exploratory and accessible environment for learners of all kinds. Emit works to create this experience through the intersection of classical text and improvisation. Actors with skills and experiences in both of these areas, as well as actors who are comfortable working/performing for students, are highly encouraged to apply. Special consideration will be given to actors who also sing or play an instrument.

We encourage you to check out our work at www.emittheatre.org

We aim to have the children of New York City see themselves represented in our productions. We will consider actors of any gender, ability, and ethnicity for the following roles: Olivia, Duke Orsino, Feste/Captain, Viola, Malvolio, Maria, Sir Toby Belch, Sir Andrew Aguecheek, Sebastian, Antonio, and two Understudy tracks.

Please note that seven roles will be filled by members of our Acting Company, but no roles have been assigned.

Ensemble auditions will be held in 45 minute slots and are by appointment only. Auditions will be held at Wingspan Arts, located 630 9th Ave, Suite 602 on Sunday, January 5, 11:30am-6:45pm. To be considered for an audition slot, please send a resume that includes any educational work with students, headshot, and two professional references in either education or theatre to auditions@emittheatre.org. If you are offered an audition appointment, please prepare a one minute cut of a classical monologue (verse preferred) and wear clothing you are comfortable playing with the group in. 

Rehearsal and Performance Schedule

We rehearse at the NY Foundling (590 6th Ave, Manhattan). Actors will not be called for all rehearsals. School performances and public performances will be hosted by The Shakespeare Forum at El Barrio’s Artspace PS109 in East Harlem. 

REHEARSALS:
Tuesday, February 4, 7:00p-9:30p
Thursday, February 6, 7:00p-9:30p
Saturday, February 8, 10:00a-2:00p
Tuesday, February 11, 7:00p-9:30p
Thursday, February 13, 7:00p-9:30p
Saturday, February 15, 10:00a-2:00p
Tuesday, February 18, 7:00p-9:30p
Thursday, February 20, 7:00p-9:30p
Saturday, February 22, 10:00a-2:00p
Tuesday, February 25, 7:00p-9:30p
Thursday, February 27, 7:00p-9:30p
Saturday, February 29, 10:00a-2:00p
Tuesday, March 3, 7:00p-9:30p
Thursday, March 5, 7:00p-9:30p
Saturday, March 7, 10:00a-2:00p
Tuesday, March 10, 7:00p-9:30p
Thursday, March 12, 7:00p-9:30p

TECH: Friday, March 13, 11:00a-5:00p

PERFORMANCES:
Friday, March 13, Public Performance 7:00p
Saturday, March 14, Public Performances 3:00p and 7:00p
Monday, March 16, School Show, span of day 10:00a-2:00p
Tuesday, March 17, School Show, span of day 10:00a-2:00p
Wednesday, March 18, School Show, span of day 10:00a-2:00p
Thursday, March 19, School Show, span of day 10:00a-2:00p
Saturday, March 21st, Public Performances 3:00p and 7:00p
Sunday, March 22, Public Performance 2:00p

Compensation
Each actor will be paid an initial stipend of $480. 

Each understudy will receive $30 per attended rehearsal (approx. 6 rehearsals) and receive $100 per covered performance day.

Please note: Additional performances may be added in the case of a school booking an in-school performance not at El Barrio’s Artspace. The pay scale for in-school performances is as follows:
1 show day: $100 
2 show day: $150 
3 show day: $200

DURATION

February 4, 2020 – March 22, 2020

SALARY

$480

HOW TO APPLY

APPLY BY EMAIL

Send e-mail to auditions…

*NOTE: Do not copy/paste the above email address as it is encoded with SPAM protection. Just click it to initiate an email from your preferred email client.